PanStadia & Arena Management Magazine is the undisputed world leader for the business of stadia, arenas, sporting events and venues on a global scale.

IOG industry awards celebrate sports turf excellence

The finalists have been announced for the Institute of Groundsmanship (IOG) Industry Awards 2013, after a record number of nominations were received.

Now in their fifth year, the Awards acknowledge the high standards achieved by volunteer and professional teams and individuals at facilities that range from grassroots through to professional stadia level.

The Awards’ judging process recognises achievement, innovation and fresh thinking as well as examples of best practice from the leaders in the world of groundsmanship.

The aim of the Awards is to raise industry standards and encourage greater professionalism within the industry, and the successful winners will be announced Oscar-style at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry on 5 December. The finalists are:

Professional Awards

IOG Professional Cricket Groundsman of the Year

  • Gary Barwell, Warwickshire CC
  • Steve Birks, Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club (Trent Bridge)


IOG Professional Rugby Union Groundsman of the Year

  • Martin Knight, Worcester Warriors RFC
  • Myles Landick, Jersey RFC


IOG Professional Rugby League Groundsman of the Year

  • Jason Booth, Leeds Rhinos
  • John Lupton, Castleford Tigers


IOG Professional Tennis Groundsman of the Year

  • Neil Stubley, All England Lawn Tennis Club (Wimbledon)
  • Ian Wall, Bank of England Recreation Club, Roehampton, London.


IOG Campey/Imants Professional Football Groundsman of the Year

  • Darren Baldwin, Tottenham Hotspur FC
  • Tony Stones, Wembley Stadium


IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Groundsman of the Year

  • Adrian Kay, York Racecourse
  • Shaun Reilly, Huntingdon Racecourse


IOG National Governing Bodies Professional Spectator Sports Ground of the Year – co sponsored by the AELTC (All England Lawn Tennis Club), ECB (the England and Wales Cricket Board), the Football Association (The FA), the Football Foundation, the Lawn Tennis Association (the LTA), the Premier League, the RFL (Rugby Football League), and the RFU (Rugby Football Union).

  • Etihad Stadium, Manchester
  • White Hart Lane, London


IOG Professional Sports Ground Team of the Year

  • Huntingdon Racecourse
  • Leeds Rhinos
  • Liberty Stadium, Swansea
  • The Hurlingham Club, Fulham
  • Wembley Stadium


IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman of the Year

  • Ryan Golding, Leeds Rhinos
  • Will Graves, Merchant Taylors’ School, Middlesex


Grassroots Awards

  • IOG Toro School, College or University Sports Club Groundsman of the Year
  • Stephen Fidler, St James Independent Boys’ School, Middlesex
  • Adam Tester, University of Leicester


IOG School, College or University Sports Club Grounds Team of the Year

  • St Albans School, Hertfordshire
  • Hampton School, Middlesex


IOG Most Promising Sportsturf Student of the Year

  • Dean Bryce, Campbell Park Cricket Club, Milton Keynes
  • Martin Stephenson, Ashbrook Sports Club, County Durham


IOG White Horse Contractors Grassroots Sports Ground of the Year

  • Aspatria RUFC, Cumbria
  • Beversbrook Sports Facility, Wiltshire


IOG Vitax Supaturf Volunteer Sports Groundsman of the Year

  • John Heyworth, Aspatria RUFC, Cumbria
  • Mark Jones, Falmouth Town FC, Cornwall


IOG Ransomes Jacobsen Environmental Project/Innovation of the Year

  • Forest Green Rovers FC, Gloucestershire
  • The Harefield Academy, Middlesex


IOG Kubota/Redexim Charterhouse Best Maintained Artificial Pitch of the Year

  • Hampton School, Middlesex
  • One Leisure, Cambridgeshire


The IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnsons Groundsman of the Year Award

The coveted IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnson Groundsman of the Year Award is named after the inspirational chair of the IOG, who held the post from 1991-1993 and 2002-2009. The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

IOG Everris & Syngenta Lifetime Achievement Award

The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.