PanStadia & Arena Management Magazine is the undisputed world leader for the business of stadia, arenas, sporting events and venues on a global scale.

UK’s top groundsmen recognised at IOG awards

More than 350 of the UK’s and Europe’s leading groundscare experts from both the professional and volunteer sector, as well as dignitaries from the governing bodies of sport and influential sports administrators, honoured the expertise, dedication and passion of the UK’s grounds profession at the Institute of Groundsmanship (IOG) annual Industry Awards.

Hosted by BBC TV and radio presenter Mark Clemmit, the sell-out IOG Awards ceremony followed a day-long series of IOG ‘Raising the Game’ Conference presentations by some of the biggest names in the sports, parks and groundscare industry from both sides of the Atlantic.

The winners of the 2013 IOG Industry Awards:

The IOG Professional Sports Ground Team of the Year

  • Winner: Wembley Stadium
  • Finalists: Huntingdon Racecourse; Leeds Rugby; Liberty Stadium, Swansea; The Hurlingham Club, Fulham

The IOG Professional Cricket Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Gary Barwell, Warwickshire CC
  • Finalist: Steve Birks, Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club (Trent Bridge)

The IOG Professional Rugby Union Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Myles Landick, Jersey RFC
  • Finalist: Martin Knight, Worcester Warriors RFC

The IOG Professional Rugby League Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Jason Booth, Leeds Rugby
  • Finalist: John Lupton, Castleford Tigers

The IOG Professional Tennis Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Neil Stubley, All England Lawn Tennis Club (Wimbledon)
  • Finalist: Ian Wall, Bank of England Sports Centre, Roehampton, London

The IOG Campey/Imants Professional Football Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Darren Baldwin, Tottenham Hotspur FC
  • Finalist: Tony Stones, Wembley Stadium

The IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Adrian Kay, York Racecourse
  • Finalist: Shaun Reilly, Huntingdon Racecourse

The IOG Governing Bodies Professional Spectator Sports Ground of the Year – co-sponsored by the All England Lawn Tennis Club, the England and Wales Cricket Board, the Football Association, the Football Foundation, the Lawn Tennis Association, the Premier League, the Rugby Football League and the Rugby Football Union

  • Winner: Etihad Stadium, Manchester
  • Finalist: White Hart Lane, London

The IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Ryan Golding, Leeds Rugby
  • Finalist: Will Graves, Merchant Taylors’ School, Middlesex

The Alex R Millar DLF/Johnsons Professional Groundsman of the Year

  • Winner: Adrian Kay, York Racecourse

As well as being responsible for the day-to-day maintenance of the York Racecourse site, and overseeing budgets, capital expenditure and his staff, Adrian Kay’s six-year tenure as head groundsman has also seen him lead or be involved with a number of major projects at the course.

The IOG Everris & Syngenta Lifetime Achievement

  • Winner: Len Smith

After 20 years at Glamorgan County Cricket Club, Len Smith joined the IOG as Regional Advisor for Wales and, since 2009, he has successfully developed the IOG’s training, education and membership in the area as well as established strong links with governing bodies, colleges and local authorities.